My Favourite Pictures of the Greek Islands – 14

 

Donkey Transport

This rather poor quality photograph was taken on the island of Kos in 1983.

As I had been walking I passed an old islander on a mule and it was obvious that he was going about his day and his work on his chosen form of transport!  I got to thinking about how infrequently you see this now, much less even than when I first started to visit the Greek islands over twenty years ago and I realised that soon this will be a thing of the past.  This makes me sad!  When this generation has gone it is probable that no one will continue to use donkeys for anything other than equine amusement.  I felt glad that I had been there in time to see this and felt disappointed for those who will come after me and won’t.  Soon, I suspect seeing a Greek man riding a donkey will be consigned to the dustbin of nostalgia just like an Austrian man wearing a Tyrolean hat as a preferred piece of headgear and Italians driving manically and buzzing amount like demented wasps in those noisy three wheeled Piaggios.  They will be gone and Europe will be the poorer for it.

4 responses to “My Favourite Pictures of the Greek Islands – 14

  1. Hi,
    Not bad photos at all for 1983, rather good I thought.
    It would be a shame to see the donkey’s go, they seem to be part of the country I feel and I’m sure the country would be the loser.

    Like

  2. Saw a lot of donkeys in Crete and those old ladies in dark clothes too.

    Like

  3. Sa how the old ways are lost and then forgotten. Even in Greece.

    Like

  4. I meant ‘sad’ in last post. Sorry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

