Travelling – Gladiator Sandals

Gladiator Sandals Naxos Greece

I had what I called my gladiator sandals since 1999 when I went to Rhodes and they  accompanied me abroad on every single subsequent holiday. By 2006 they were showing signs of wear and were not expected to see through a Greek island hopping adventure. I  made it my mission to see how long I could keep make them last.

The Gladiators made it through the island travels and surprisingly lasted another two years when an important part of the shoe infrastructure failed (one of the straps snapped).

After Rhodes, they had been to the Greek islands of Skiathos, Cephalonia (twice), Santorini (twice), Crete, Thassos, Mykonos, Naxos, Paros, Ios (twice), Sikinos, Amorgos, Milos and Sifnos.  I finally had to accept that they were irreparable whilst on the island of Folegandros so I thought that this was a suitable place to say goodbye and I  left them there to become part of the Greek earth in whatever landfill site they ended up in.

I really loved those sandals!

 

10 responses to “Travelling – Gladiator Sandals

  1. I have never been a fan of sandals!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s sad when a pair of sandals that have trod many a kilometer finally say “Enough”.

    Like

  3. Hehehehe, love favourite shoes, if it were me I would have taken them to shoemaker to mend the broken strap if soles were still good for wear 😀

    Like

  4. No chance of hunting down another pair?
    Couldn’t the strap be repaired?
    Sorry to hear about your loss, Andrew. I know the feeling. ;-(

    Like

  5. Farewell brave gladiators…Good for you for walking that last mile together and not being a slave to fashion😉. I too buy sturdy shoes and walk them into the ground – keeping them out of landfill for as long as possible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

