People Pictures – Net Fixing

“…lively commentaries on village happenings relieved the monotony of net-mending to which many women were obliged to devote the major part of the daylight hours.  Net-mending left the brain free to create its own fancies and to work on the raw material of speculation and known fact from which the tissue of gossip was woven.” – Norman Lewis – “Voices of the Old Sea”

In my previous post about Castro Urdiales  in Cantabria I referred to the net fixers working on the harbour.  Blogging pal John asked for a picture and I am happy to oblige.

4 responses to “People Pictures – Net Fixing

  1. From your first post I was expecting to see little old wizen women in black. But what a delightful surprise. Thank you Andrew.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, that is a surprise. I’ve never seen young women mending nets before, a sign that things have changed a lot since I last wandered a quayside in the Med.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.