It’s Nice to Feel Useful (2)

  

It’s nice to feel useful…

Six months or so ago I took a look at my statistics and was baffled by some of the search questions that seemed to have brought web-surfers by to visit my site.  I have done it again looked at my statistics for the last month and selected my favourite  Search Engine terms that brought people to my blog.

I have set them out here together with a link to the appropriate page…

First off this time…

“do flights landing in Naples fly over Vesuvius?”

Vesuvius the crater

Now, this seems to me to be an especially dumb question.  I am not an expert on aviation or air traffic control but it seems very unlikely to me that aeroplane carrying over three hundred passengers landing at an international airport in Italy would want to fly over the top of a 1,300 metre high active volcano because it sounds full of potential hazards to me.

The page they were directed to was probably my post about my visit to the mountain.

  •  

Now, I like to think that my posts are occasionally informative and the contents have some useful trivia but I really don’t see how I could possibly help with these two searches because it seems to me that someone is looking for a level of detail that I just can’t get down to:  Montreuil sur Mer allotments and the name of the street behind the Moulin Rouge?”.  I have posted on these two locations so perhaps this is where they were directed: 

Montreuil-Sur-Mer old town walls  

Montreuil-Sur-Mer                                      Moulin Rouge

  •  

This one cropped up before but it’s well worth repeating again here because I can’t believe anyone would google this – How big are Ryanair seat belts” – I dealt with flying with Ryanair in my post Travel Tips When Flying Budget Airlines – These people are going to be really disappointed when they get the answers!

Ryanair over the Alps

  •  

This is a really good one, I like it – committing suicide on p&o mini cruise”. Some people go to Switzerland to end their lives unnaturally whilst others look for a solution on line.

I have been on a P&O mini-cruse from Hull to Rotterdam and although it was not what you would describe as a luxury experience, the food was good and the bar prices reasonable so I can think of no really good reason to throw yourself overboard!

  •  

Another dumb historical question next – “how wealthy are the Romanovs?” and dumb because most people know that the entire Romanov family were killed by the Bolsheviks in 1917 during the Russian revolution.

There are some claimants to the titles of the Russian Tsars but even if they were confirmed to be true descendants they would be extremely unlikely to be wealthy because the Russian communist regime confiscated all their money and valuables.

I visited Russia in 2012 and posted about the fate of the Romanovs so I guess the enquirer might have ended up on my post about the Peter and Paul Fortress in St. Petersburg.

Russia St Petersburg

  •  

I rather liked this question and for once I can be certain that I have the answer:  Is it always raining in Wales” and the answer in my personal experience is YES!  I went to Wales in 2011 for a week and it rained so much that after four days I gave up, abandoned the holiday cottage and drove back home.  This is my account of the journey!

North Wales

  •  

I was also delighted to be able to help with this enquiry – “seagulls on my roof” because I have had exactly the same problem and posted about it last year when the fledgling chicks started to fly – I called it ‘The Seagull has Landed” because although Seagulls may well be a feature of the seaside when I moved to Grimsby I didn’t expect to get a pair nesting on my roof!

  •  

Whilst it is nice to think that sometimes my posts might have been useful I have saved my absolute favourites for last and to be honest I have no idea at all where this search led people to on my blog pages – First: “Bodrum handbag prices”, because anyone that reads my posts will know that I am not by any stretch of the imagination what you would call a shopper.

But here is my absolute favourite, probably of all time:

can pubic  hair grow more with regain?”

because I don’t think I have ever written a post about pubic hair!

?????

I’d love to hear from you about weird search results on your sites!

17 responses to “It’s Nice to Feel Useful (2)

  1. Don’t have a blog so can’t answer that one – but did go to Wales once on a camping holiday with the family as a child. We got there it was ‘hissing’ it down so we went to slep in the car. When we woke up it was still ‘hissing’ it down so we drove back hoome to Nottingham. A diferent start to a holiday but it did cure my car sickness.

    Like

  2. Hahahaha …I should do a similar post. I´m always amazed what search terms people put in to find my blog, too 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve never done it but after reading this post, it sounds intriguing. One of these days when I am at loose ends and can’t think of any way to entertain myself, I’ll give it a go.

    Anyway, Andrew, this post was fun to read.

    Like

  4. Nowt so queer as folk, Andrew? 🙂

    Like

  5. Those search terms are a regular source of innocent merriment to me too, Andrew. My favourite (maybe from the same searcher who made your pubic hair enquiry) was ‘buildings that look like penises.’ I hope I was able to help.

    Like

  6. I’d never looked at this but after reading your post, I went to look. My favorite was “wench in bare feet.” Followed closely by “sheep way on history.”

    Now I must put “pubic hair” in google and see if your blog comes up.

    Like

  7. This was a fun read!

    Like

  8. Wishing I had as much time on my hands. Lately it seems I’m barely keeping up with reading posts. 😦

    Like

  9. I get all sorts too, recent favourites include ‘can your skin can get sucked off by stingrays’, ‘what do you get for £125 at goodwood revival’ and ‘sex with a stranger on an overnight train in europe’ (can’t help with that one!)

    Like

  10. Pingback: It’s Nice To Feel Useful (7) | Have Bag, Will Travel

  11. Pingback: It’s Nice To Feel Useful (9) | Have Bag, Will Travel

  12. Pingback: It’s Nice to Feel Useful (11) | Have Bag, Will Travel

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.